Welcome to the Lakes.com




You are here : Home / UK Mountain Classification-Wainwrights


UK Mountain Classification-Wainwrights

Wainwrights of The Lake District.

Wainwrights are a UK Mountain Classification

Alfred Wainwright's Guide to the Fells is the definitive Guide for walking in the Lake District .

214 mountains and tops ( or Wainwrights !) are covered in graphic detail in his seven books...all walks are accessible for the average enthusiastic walker.

Alfred segmented the Lakes into seven areas. The Wainwright walks in each area are:

The Eastern Fells (35)
The Far Eastern Fells (36)
The Central Fells (27)
The Southern Fells (30)
The Northern Fells (24)
The North Western Fells (29)
The Western Fells (33)


cumbria slideshow


Contct Us / Advertise / Links

Copyright ©1996-2009 New Century Media - All Rights Reserved.