Welcome to the Lakes.com




You are here : Home / UK Mountain Classification-Hewitts


UK Mountain Classification-Hewitts

A Hewitt is a Hill in England, Wales or Ireland over 610m or Two Thousand feet with 30m (approx 100ft) 'ascent' on all sides.

This is a UK Mountain Classification.

There are 114 Hewitts in The Lake District distributed as follows:

The Eastern Fells (18)
The Far Eastern Fells (18)
The Central Fells (4)
The Southern Fells (26)
The Northern Fells (12)
The North Western Fells (15)
The Western Fells (21)



There are currently 526 Hewitts throughout the UK & excluding Scotland:

England (177)
Wales (138)
Ireland (211)


cumbria slideshow


Contct Us / Advertise / Links

Copyright ©1996-2009 New Century Media - All Rights Reserved.