Welcome to the Lakes.com




You are here : Home /



The Lakes may be conveniently segmented into Seven Fells Regions.

"Fells", one of the most famous Lake District terms, derives from the Viking or Old Norse fjall word for mountain . It shows the influence that the Vikings from Western Norway had on the early Celts of the Lake District in the eighth century .

The Eastern Fells
The Far Eastern Fells
The Central Fells
The Southern Fells
The Northern Fells
The North-Western Fells
The Western Fells


cumbria slideshow


Contct Us / Advertise / Links

Copyright ©1996-2009 New Century Media - All Rights Reserved.